What makes you think??

Image

A very short post as I was asked to share my list of recommended books. I am a great one for reading part of a book and often find that I don’t invest the time to see it through. Ironically it is when I have no Internet connection that I can really get my teeth into one and progress well. I sometimes save something special for the summer holidays and have to admit I have a limited range of tastes as the books seem to fall into three categories – autobiography / biography (often sporting giants or leaders!), leadership or education. Having said that I suppose they are what most makes me stop and think. To live out this mantra I am now going to get back into my latest read – Why Do I Need A Teacher When I’ve Got Google? by Ian Gilbert which is great!

I hope you have find something below that enriches your thinking too! If you have one to add then please add to the comments and I will look to add it on too.

Booklist… (in no particular order!!)

  1. The Element – Ken Robinson
  2. How to be an even better manager – Michael Armstrong
  3. Born on a Blue DayDaniel Tammet
  4. Emotional Intelligence – Daniel Goleman
  5. Why do I need a teacher when I’ve got google – Ian Gilbert
  6. Bounce – Matthew Syed
  7. Mindset – Carol Dweck
  8. The perfect Ofsted lesson – Jackie Beere
  9. The perfect Ofsted inspection – Jackie Beere
  10. Leaving Microsoft to change the word – John Wood
  11. More High School Graduates – Levin
  12. Proust and the squid – Maryanne Wolf
  13. Principle Centred Leadership – Stephen R. Covey
  14. Drive – Daniel Pink
  15. Secondary School Teaching & Educational Psychology – Galloway & Edwards
  16. The World Is Flat – Thomas L. Friedman
  17. Ahead of the Class – Marie Stubbs
  18. Better – Atul Gawande
  19. Leadership with a moral purpose – Will Ryan & Ian Gilbert
  20. Oops – Hywel Roberts
  21. High Performers – Alistair Smith
  22. The Lazy Teacher’s Handbook – Jim Smith
  23. Our Iceberg Is Melting – John Kotter & Holger Rathgeber
  24. What’s the point of school – Guy Claxton
  25. Teenagers: A Natural History – Davd Bainbridge
  26. The fifth discipline – Peter M. Senge
  27. Inspirational Teachers, Inspirational Learners – Will Ryan & Ian Gilbert
  28. The 8th Habit – Stephen R.Covey
  29. Good to Great – Jim Collins
  30. Talent management in education – Davies & Davies
  31. Developing Sustainable Leadership – Davies
  32. Click – Ori & Rom Brafman
  33. Outliers – Malcolm Gladwell
  34. Fierce Conversations – Susan Stott
  35. Quiet – Susan Cain
Leave a Reply

